President Obama Names National Humanties Medal Winners

978-0-8223-2194-1_pr We congratulate Roberto González-Echevarría, author of Celestina's Brood: Continuities of the Baroque in Spanish and Latin American Literature and Myth and Archive: A Theory of Latin American Narrative on winning a 2010 National Humanties Medal. Originally from Cuba, González-Echevarría has taught for many years at Yale, where he is currently the Sterling Professor of Hispanic and Comparative Literatures. Myth and Archive won the MLA’s Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize and the Latin American Studies Association’s Bryce Wood Book Award. The National Humanities Medal honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation's understanding of the humanities, broadened citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans' access to important resources in the humanities. Other winners of this year's prestigious award  are: historians Bernard Bailyn, Jacques Barzun, and Gordon S. Wood; biographer Arnold Rampersad; literary scholar Daniel Aaron; education policy scholar Stanley Nider Katz; novelists Joyce Carol Oates and Philip Roth; and poet, novelist and environmentalist Wendell E. Berry. Congratulations to them all, and thanks to them for their contributions to humanties scholarship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s