GL/Q Caucus Awards

On January 7, 2012, the GL/Q Caucus of the Modern Language Association met to announce its annual award recipients.  Congratulations to the winners!




The Michael Lynch service award goes to Luz-Maria Umpierre.  In addition to her impressive scholarly record, which includes seven collections of bilingual poetry, two books of literary criticism, and more than forty scholarly articles, Professor Umpierre has been a tireless advocate for the rights and aspirations of marginalized people, including those with AIDS, the homeless, battered women, disabled children, and members of the GLBT community both on and off campus.


The recipient of the 2011 Crompton-Noll Award is Mun-Hou Lo, for his essay "Backs Unbroken: Ang Lee, Forbearance, and the Closet." The essay appears in the collection The Brokeback Book: From Story to Cultural Phenomenon, ed. William R. Handley (U of Nebraska Press, 2011).

The award committee admired Lo's nuanced distinction between repression and forbearance – especially as the author contextualized the latter in Lee's film oeuvre and in the Chinese language.


The winner of this year’s Alan Bray Memorial Book Award is Darieck Scott’s Extravagant Abjection: Blackness, Power, and Sexuality in the African American Literary Imagination (New York University Press, 2010).

An elegantly written and thoroughly researched study, Extravagant Abjection helps push queer studies in exciting and imperatively new directions.

Thanks to the award committees for their work and especially, the committee chairs: Scarlett Bowen, Ricky Rodriguez, and Kenneth Kidd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s