Congratulations to Our Award-Winning Authors

BigenhoAt this weekend's Latin American Studies Association conference, several of our books were honored with awards. Michelle Bigenho's Intimate Distance: Andean Music in Japan has won the Book Award from the LASA Section for Asia and the Americas. Paul Eiss has been awarded the LASA Mexico Section Book Award for his book In the Name of El Pueblo: Place, Community, and the Politics of History in Yucatan. Jerry Dávila's Hotel Trópico: Brazil and the Challenge of African Davila Decolonization, 1950-1980 has won the LASA Brazil Section Book Award. The Brazil section also awared Amy Chazkel Honorable Mention for her book Laws of Chance: Brazil's Clandestine Lottery and the Making of Urban Public Life. And Kathryn Burns received Honorable Mention for the LASA Bryce Wood Award for her book Into the Archive: Writing and Power in Colonial Peru

KimOur authors were also honored at the Association of Asian Studies conference in March. Eleana Kim won the James Palais book prize from the Northeast Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies for her book Adopted Territory: Transnational Korean Adoptees and the Politics of Belonging. Yomi Braester's Painting the City Red: Chinese Cinema and the Urban Contract was awarded the AAS China and Inner Asia Council (CIAC) Levenson Prize for Books in Chinese Studies. And Karen Strassler's Strassler Refracted Visions: Popular Photography and National Modernity in Java has won the AAS Southeast Asia Council Harry J. Benda Prize in Southeast Asian Studies

BerlantWe also congratulate Carolyn Dean for winning the Association for Latin American Art Book Award for her book A Culture of Stone: Inka Perspectives on Rock. And Lauren Berlant's Cruel Optimism has won the 2012 René Wellek Prize from the American Comparative Literature Association. The 2012 Joel Gregory Prize from the Canadian Association of African Studies was awarded to Vinh-Kim Nguyen for his book The Republic of Therapy: Triage and Sovereignty in West Africa's Time of AIDS. And Sukanya Banerjee's Becoming Imperial Citizens: Indians in the Late Victorian Empire has won the Northeast Victorian Studies Association Sonya Rudikoff Award for the best Victorian book by a first-time author.

Congratulations to all our award-winning authors!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s