Duke Authors at the 2013 MLA

BatisteWe enjoyed attending the 2013 Modern Language Association (MLA) conference last week in Boston. It was especially gratifying to celebrate two big awards. Congratulations to Stephanie Leigh Batiste, author of Darkening Mirrors, who won the William Sanders Scarborough Prize for an outstanding scholarly study of black American literature or culture. We also congratulate Lauren Berlant, author of Cruel Optimism, and Chandan Reddy, author of Freedom with Violence, who are co-winners of the MLA's GLQ Caucus's Alan Bray Memorial Book Prize.

Check out some of our other authors with their books!



Elizabeth Freeman, author of Time Binds.



Andrew Parker, author of The Theorist's Mother and co-editor (with Janet Halley) of After Sex?




Paul Youngquist and Grégory Pierrot, co-editors of An Historical Account of the Black Empire of Hayti by Marcus Rainsford.



Bruce Robbins, author of Perpetual War.




Christina Sharpe, author of Monstrous Intimacies.




Salamisha Tillet, author of Sites of Slavery.


You can still order these books and any others with the conference discount by visiting our website and using the offer code DEXH131B when you place your order. Thanks to Emily Lawrence and Kevin Woodcock for taking the photos. We're already looking forward to next year!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s