Congratulations to Our Recent Award-Winners

At the midpoint of 2015, books from Duke have been awarded nearly twenty prizes from 15 major academic associations in a broad range of disciplines.

978-0-8223-5370-6_prAmong the most recent winners are recipients of two book awards from the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS): Vernadette Vicuña Gonzalez, whose 2013 book, Securing Paradise: Tourism and Militarism in Hawai’i and the Philippines, has received the AAAS Cultural Studies Book Award, and Min Hyoung Song’s 2013 book, The Children of 1965: On Writing, and Not Writing, as an Asian American, which has been given AAAS Literary Studies Book Award.

Afsaneh Najmabadi’s Professing Selves: Transsexuality and Same-Sex Desire in Contemporary Iran (2013) is a two-time prize winner. It has been awarded the prestigious Joan Kelly Memorial Prize, which is given by the American Historical Association (AHA) to the best book in women’s history and / or feminist theory, as well as the biennial John Boswell Prize for an outstanding book on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and / or queer history, from the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (CLGBTH).

Our finalists for the Lambda Literary Awards in the category of LGBT Studies are Queen for a Day: Transformistas, Beauty Queens, and the Performance of Femininity in Venezuela by Marcia Ochoa, and Noelle M. Stout’s After Love: Queer Intimacy and Erotic Economies in Post-Soviet Cuba, which were both published in 2014.

978-0-8223-5603-5_prThomas Miller Klubock has been named the Co-Winner of the Bryce Wood Book Award from the Latin American Studies Association (LASA) for his 2014 book, La Frontera: Forests and Ecological Conflict in Chile’s Frontier Territory.

Lynn Stephen’s third book with Duke, 2013’s We Are the Face of Oaxaca: Testimony and Social Movements, has been named the winner of the Delmos Jones and Jagna Sharff Memorial Book Prize for the Critical Study of North America from the Society for the Anthropology of North America (SANA) Section of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Audra Simpson’s Mohawk Interruptus: Political Life Across the Borders of Settler States (2014) received the Honorable Mention for the same award, and additionally has been named the Best First Book Prize from the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA).

Paige A. McGinley has won the John W. Frick Book Award for the best book in American theatre and drama from the American Theatre and Drama Society for Staging the Blues: From Tent Shows to Tourism (2014).

978-0-8223-5682-0_prBrenda R. Weber has been recognized twice for excellence in editing of Reality Gendervision: Sexuality and Gender on Transatlantic Reality Television (2014), as co-winner of the Ray and Pat Browne Awards for Best Edited Collection in Popular and American Culture from the Popular Culture Association / American Culture Association, and with an Award of Distinction from the Society for Cinema & Media Studies for Best Edited Collection and Best Essay in an Edited Collection.

Congratulations to our prize-winning authors, and we look forward to bringing you news of more prize winners later in the year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s