The Unabomber Responds to His Brother’s Book

Ted Kaczynski, also known as The Unabomber, has reached out to media to respond to his brother’s book. In February, we published Every Last Tie: The Story of the Unabomber and His Family, by David Kaczynski. The book details the Kaczynski brothers’ childhood and the difficult and painful decision David and his wife Linda made to turn Ted in to the FBI.

In a handwritten letter to New Yorker reporter Lawrence Wright, which Wright posted on Twitter, Ted Kaczynski writes, “I am writing because I am ready to speak to someone from the media regarding my brother’s recent comments and to discuss how they are being used to torment me.”

David Kaczynski says, “Engaging with my brother on this topic at this time will only cause more pain for him, for me, and for his victims. I love my brother and wish him no ill. I seek only peace and reconciliation.” In a Q&A with Duke University Press in February, he discussed his brother’s mental illness and also his hopes for reconciliation. These words from his book also express his thoughts:

It has occurred to me that Ted and I are almost like disowned parts of each other. Ted the Unabomber represents the violence and pessimism that I reject. David the putative “moral hero” represents the inauthenticity of hope in a world gone fundamentally awry. Ted’s cruelty stigmatizes my good name; but my reputation for goodness comes at his expense. Like all contrived opposites, we reinforce one another. The worst thing he can do to me is to deny any opportunity for reconciliation. Hope of reconciliation is something I am bound to maintain, but it costs me little—only the sneaking sense that some part of me is missing.

Leave a Reply

